Monday, 6 December 2010

Brecon Beacons and Breacon Beacon National Park.

The Brecon Beacons is the world famous mountain range in South Wales, United Kingdom. It"s welsh name is Bannau Brycheiniog. It forms the central section of the Brecon Beacons National Park . This park is one of Wales's three National Parks which is established in the year 1957. The other two are Snowdonia and Pembrokshire coast.

The Brecon Beacons are named after the ancient practice of lighting signal fires or beacons on mountains to warn of attacks by the English. In recent times it is used to commemorate public and national events such as coronations or the Millennium.

We can enjoy various walking paths in and around this area. This famous one is a 100 mile rule named Beacons way. This runs from r Ysgyryd Fawr east of Abergavenny, through Crickhowell and ends in the Bethlehem (Carmarthenshire).

Other than walking, you can enjoy cycling, sailing, mountain biking,windsurfing, horse riding, canoeing ,fishing, rock climbing, hang-gliding, caravanning, camping, caving etc.

The park is also famous for its waterfalls and wild welsh sheeps.

In and around this area you can see and visit many other tourist spots.

No comments:

You may like this

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...